Saturday, November 19, 2016

Miyamoto Musashi's The "Way of Walking Alone" (aka 'Dokkodo')

Please click for bigger picture

The "Way of Walking Alone" (aka 'Dokkodo') is the summary of Miyamoto Musashi's life, his will and his philosophy.

The 21 Precepts of Dokkodo are as follows:

1. Accept everything just the way it is.
2. Do not seek pleasure for its own sake.
3. Do not, under any circumstances, depend on a partial feeling.
4. Think lightly of yourself and deeply of the world.
5. Be detached from desire your whole life long.
6. Do not regret what you have done.
7. Never be jealous.
8. Never let yourself be saddened by a separation.
9. Resentment and complaint are appropriate neither for oneself or others.
10. Do not let yourself be guided by the feeling of lust or love.
11. In all things have no preferences.
12. Be indifferent to where you live.
13. Do not pursue the taste of good food.
14. Do not hold on to possessions you no longer need.
15. Do not act following customary beliefs.
16. Do not collect weapons or practice with weapons beyond what is useful.
17. Do not fear death.
18. Do not seek to possess either goods or fiefs for your old age.
19. Respect Buddha and the gods without counting on their help.
20. You may abandon your own body but you must preserve your honour.
21. Never stray from the Way.

"You must study this well."

Please check out my site's FB page:



back to top
Stickgrappler's Sojourn of Septillion Steps